Skip to main content

Delete a deployment

If the repository only has one deployment, you can delete the deployment regardless of its status. If the repository has more than one deployment, you can only delete inactive deployments. This ensures that repositories with multiple deployments will always have an active deployment. Anyone with `repo` or `repo_deployment` scopes can delete a deployment. To set a deployment as inactive, you must: * Create a new deployment that is active so that the system has a record of the current state, then delete the previously active deployment. * Mark the active deployment as inactive by adding any non-successful deployment status. For more information, see "[Create a deployment](https://docs.github.com/[email protected]/rest/reference/repos/#create-a-deployment)" and "[Create a deployment status](https://docs.github.com/[email protected]/rest/reference/repos#create-a-deployment-status)."

DELETE/repos/{owner}/{repo}/deployments/{deployment_id}
Source
github-v3-rest.json
Revision
f5f067c1e6f6
Active snapshot
85e53e3d0d65

Request

Path Parameters
owner string
required
repo string
required
deployment_id integer
required

deployment_id parameter

Responses

Response

application/json Basic Error object

Resource not found

documentation_url string
optional
message string
optional
status string
optional
url string
optional
application/json Validation Error Simple object

Validation failed

documentation_url string
required
errors array[string]
optional
message string
required