Skip to main content

Remove team membership for a user

Team synchronization is available for organizations using GitHub Enterprise Cloud. For more information, see [GitHub's products](https://docs.github.com/github/getting-started-with-github/githubs-products) in the GitHub Help documentation. To remove a membership between a user and a team, the authenticated user must have 'admin' permissions to the team or be an owner of the organization that the team is associated with. Removing team membership does not delete the user, it just removes their membership from the team. **Note:** When you have team synchronization set up for a team with your organization's identity provider (IdP), you will see an error if you attempt to use the API for making changes to the team's membership. If you have access to manage group membership in your IdP, you can manage GitHub Enterprise Server team membership through your identity provider, which automatically adds and removes team members in an organization. For more information, see "[Synchronizing teams between your identity provider and GitHub Enterprise Server](https://docs.github.com/articles/synchronizing-teams-between-your-identity-provider-and-github/)." **Note:** You can also specify a team by `org_id` and `team_id` using the route `DELETE /organizations/{org_id}/team/{team_id}/memberships/{username}`.

DELETE/orgs/{org}/teams/{team_slug}/memberships/{username}
Source
github-v3-rest.json
Revision
f5f067c1e6f6
Active snapshot
85e53e3d0d65

Request

Path Parameters
org string
required
team_slug string
required

team_slug parameter

username string
required

Responses

Response

Forbidden if team synchronization is set up