Skip to main content

Remove team membership for a user (Legacy)

Deprecated

**Deprecation Notice:** This endpoint route is deprecated and will be removed from the Teams API. We recommend migrating your existing code to use the new [Remove team membership for a user](https://docs.github.com/[email protected]/rest/reference/teams#remove-team-membership-for-a-user) endpoint. Team synchronization is available for organizations using GitHub Enterprise Cloud. For more information, see [GitHub's products](https://docs.github.com/github/getting-started-with-github/githubs-products) in the GitHub Help documentation. To remove a membership between a user and a team, the authenticated user must have 'admin' permissions to the team or be an owner of the organization that the team is associated with. Removing team membership does not delete the user, it just removes their membership from the team. **Note:** When you have team synchronization set up for a team with your organization's identity provider (IdP), you will see an error if you attempt to use the API for making changes to the team's membership. If you have access to manage group membership in your IdP, you can manage GitHub Enterprise Server team membership through your identity provider, which automatically adds and removes team members in an organization. For more information, see "[Synchronizing teams between your identity provider and GitHub Enterprise Server](https://docs.github.com/articles/synchronizing-teams-between-your-identity-provider-and-github/)."

DELETE/teams/{team_id}/memberships/{username}
Source
github-v3-rest.json
Revision
f5f067c1e6f6
Active snapshot
85e53e3d0d65

Request

Path Parameters
team_id integer
required
username string
required

Responses

Response

if team synchronization is set up